It had been raining since morning that day. The weather was just the addition to his woeful state. He had an interview in the afternoon, and it took him too long. He entered the building at 1:00 PM and exited at 6:00 PM as there were many candidates for the position. And the interview had not gone as expected too. It was 6:30 PM, and the clouds were unrelentingly purple with rage. After that dreadful interview, he stopped by a cafe to eat something and ordered Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo pasta with cold coffee. He was feeling sleepy. So, he finished his meal and then exited at 7:30 PM. He started walking towards the bus stop.

That day, the roads were empty, and the otherwise busy intersection was deserted. When he was about to reach the bus stop, he could see that the bus stop was strangely isolated. Even the traffic lights were flashing amber. He looked at his wristwatch, and it was showing only 7:45 PM. Everything seemed quite strange.

Suddenly, he spotted a woman looking around at the bus stop. He murmured, “she might be looking for something to reach home. At least someone is there.”
He reached there and stood beside that lady. After a few seconds, he tried to look at her from the corner of his eye. He looked at her once and then turned his head toward her. He rubbed his eyes as he couldn’t believe what he just saw.

“What are you?” He questioned, staring at her.

“Um… Sorry, are you talking to me?” She purred while responding.

“What are you? Where did you come from?” He was still perplexed.

“What do you mean by What I am?” Her wings were stirring slightly.

“You look different, and you’re not like other women. I mean, yes, some parts do, but those wings and clothes don’t.” He said, slightly smiling.

“You want to say that I don’t look good, or I am not pretty, Right?”

“No. No. That’s not what I meant. Yes, you look gorgeous, but scary as well.”

“Why? Because you don’t have wings like me?” She asked.

“Well, nobody has wings here.”

“NO, everyone has them… the people I’ve known. Maybe you’re new to this world.”

“I think you’re from some other world. You’re not a human.” He said.

“A human? I never met any, but I heard about them that they are weak and kind of pathetic,” she said, frowning. “I tasted almost every other species except human.”

“Wait. What? You eat species like us?”

“Yeah, We do. Actually, my brother ate human, and he mentioned that they are delicious.” She said, enlivening.

“Are you bad?”

“If eating humans is bad, then I might be. Will it make you hate me?”

“Are you going to eat me?”

“Hmm… Well, It depends. ” She replied.

“On what?” He asked.

“I see you as a meal or a good company at this time.” She winked.

“How did you reach here if you have never been here before?”

“My sister and I were fighting as we usually do, and we maddened father. He teleported us in different parts of the universe. So, I’m here, and my sister might be here or somewhere else.”

“Oh! frustrated father.” He exclaimed. “So, what do you want me to do for you?”

“What are you capable of doing?” She shrugged.

He stepped forward and touched her wings.

She cooed and asked. “You like them?”

“NO. I mean, yes. They are beautiful.” He hesitated.

“And what about me? Do you like me?” She whispered.

“Yeah, maybe, I don’t know. I mean, I am still not sure what is happening?”

“It’s because I have wings. Can’t you just pretend I’m one of those women you have known?”

“How?” he asked, smiling.

“Okay, let’s try one more time. Could you please do that again?”

He leaned on her and ran his hands on both wings. And she bit him.

“Ow? It hurts.” He groaned.

“Umm… this is so good. Luscious.” She grunted, licking her lips.

“God, I’m bleeding. What were you trying to do? I’m even feeling weak now.”

“Well, I was curious about what my brother said about humans. And he was damn right.” She replied, looking into his eyes.

“Why are you staring at me like this?”. He asked, worrying.

“I’m just thinking you humans are delicious because you are weak, or you are weak because you are succulent.”

He was panicking. “What is in your mind?”

“I think I have made up my mind.”

She made his blood run cold. “On what? Listen, I don’t want to die.” He said, pleading.

“Oh boy, I understand. Even I like you. But your blood has tantalized my taste buds.”

“You can’t do this to me. You are not cruel I can sense that.” He said, trying to please her.

“Well, I want to.” She said, raising her eyebrows and laughing softly.

She came forward and started dragging him.

He was screaming. “PLEASE LET ME GO. PLEASE”

“Excuse me, Sir, Please wake up.” He woke up with a frightened gasp to that call. Someone was tapping on his shoulder. He opened his eyes and found himself sitting in that same cafe he entered to eat. Everyone was staring at him. It was quite embarrassing for him.

“Sir, Are you okay?” the waiter asked.

“Yeah, Yes… I’m fine.” He replied, hesitating.

“It seems you were in a freaky dream. You were screaming for your life.” The waiter said, laughing.

He nodded and asked the waiter for the bill. He paid the bill and exited that cafe. It was 7:45 PM, the roads were busy, and people were roaming everywhere. There were some people also waiting at the bus stop. When the bus arrived, everybody rushed to board the bus, and he was also one of them. After boarding the bus, he saw something behind the bus. He came by the window and looked out of it.
He was stunned by seeing the same Winged Woman he was dreaming about, standing on the bus stop, smiling, and waving at him.


4 thoughts on “The Winged Woman

Leave a comment